Contractions, contractions, contractions………

I’ve tried to hang on through this bed rest period. It hasn’t been easy. I’ve had plenty of meltdowns………as you can see on my last post.

Yesterday Tom and I planned on going grocery shopping. For those who don’t know us, we always make a monthly shopping. Yes, you read it right, MONTHLY!

Of course we have to buy veggies and other little thing in between but the major shopping is done monthly.

Anyway, I felt bad about having Tom do this by himself and I wanted to make sure that I could be there to help him out.

How could I do that?? Well, the only way for me to do that would be if I was in a wheel chair of some sort.  The good thing is that they have those little electric scooters with a basket on it. YEP I sure used that yesterday.

So, it’s not like I walked around or anything. Sure, I was in the car to and from home but while at the store I was sitting the entire time.

Anyway, we got home, put the groceries away and I made my yummy pasta salad.

I was feeling tired of course but SO HAPPY that I was able to get out of the house. SO HAPPY!!!!

Everything was fine until my 1am pill taking time. I woke up to my alarm and as always struggled to wake up enough to actually take the pill. It was almost 1:30am when I took the pill.

Then I realized that my back was KILLING me. I don’t mean the “ouch I threw my back out” pain. The pain was more like “Who’s stabbing me in the back?” kind of pain.

I got up and tried to go pee……since when I was at L&D they told me that having a full bladder could cause contractions. So I went.

I went back to sleep but the pain was only getting worse. I know that these meds take at least 30 minutes to start working so I just waited.

Eventually I had to wake Tom up to let him know that I was having contractions and to ask him to give me some blanket since he had stolen all of it.

He was so cute, he gave me his right hand and said “you can go ahead and squeeze my hand as hard as u need to. it’s only my right hand and I don’t need it” ( Tom is left handed).

I thought it was cute for about a minute until another contraction hit me.

I’m not kidding you, it felt like someone had stabbed me in the back with a knife and everytime a contraction would hit it felt like they were twisting that knife, deeper and deeper.

I started to count it and I’m sure I was having contractions every 2 mintues or so. Then after 30 minutes they were about 5 mins appart…….eventually around 3:30am they were about 10 minutes appart.

By then I was no longer laying in bed, I was sitting on my rocking chair, hoping that things would get better. I drank more water and of course had to empty my bladder again.

I eventually feel asleep around 3:30am and 4am sitting on my chair.

At 7am this little peanut woke me up kicking up a storm in there.  I woke up a couple of minutes before my alarm went off to take my next pill.

So far so good. I’m not saying my back is not hurting because it is but it’s NOTHING like what I felt last night. Right now it just feels like I slept wrong kind of pain, nothing like the stabbing knife feeling I had last night.

I’m going to stay in bed as much as I can today. We’ll see what happens today and if anything I have an appointment tomorrow with my OB. We’ll see what happens then.

Leave a Reply

