28 weeks and stressing out

We’ve hit the 28 week mark and I’m excited about that. According to Mr.Google if our baby were to be born today it has a 90% chance of survival and that makes me SO happy.

It’s strange being an IF patient and being pregnant. We think of so many things that could go wrong and we’re always preparing ourselves for the worst. Sometimes we just know too much and that’s just not good.

As for the pregnancy front, I had my 1 hour glucose test done on June 4th and I FAILED it. It just sucks. My nurse told me that the cut off numbers were below 130 and I scored a 144. I had to do the 3 hour glucose test.

It wasn’t fun at all. I arrived at 7am and they made me wait until 7:58 to do the first, fasting, draw. The first two draws weren’t bad, the third was a pain in the behind…….ohh did I mentioned that they wanted to do all of the draws from the same arm? Yep, it hurt quite a bit. The fourth and final draw started on the same arm and then moved on to the other one. It hurt more than I thought it would.

Now I have pretty bruises on both arms to prove it. Afterwards Tom and I went to breakfast and then do run some errands.

I’ve been pretty stressed out this week. First with the glucose test, which I’m still waiting for the results. Should be getting it today, hopefully. Then with some other personal drama that just hit me pretty hard.

Then yesterday I found out that I might have a huge crises with our baby shower.  The person that is hosting it, doesn’t know if she’ll be able to make it to the shower. WHAT?

I’m not sure how to say this any other way……she’s the one taking care of everything and now she doesn’t know if she’ll make it there? Seriously? My heart just sunk.

We have people coming over and we don’t know if there will be any food, decorations and a host?

Needless to say I became very emotional and upset about this. Everyone is telling me to just relax and that everything is going to work itself out. I just can’t do that. I have to have a backup plan in case she doesn’t show up.

As always, Tom is being a wonderful, sweet, husband. Yesterday  I caught him checking online how to throw a baby shower. We’re going to look at some things in town after his doctor’s appointment today to have an idea of what we’ll need to get in case we have to step it up to the plate.

See, I’m a very organized type of person. I like lists, plans, ideas. I want things to be prepared ahead of time and things to be just ready to go. I guess not everyone is like that and I understand that but now that the ball might be on my side of the court I’ll have to think about it and see what’s needed to get done.

I’m just a stress case right now and I really don’t like this feeling.

Leave a Reply

