21 weeks!

Today we’re 21 weeks!!! I just can’t believe this is really happening. Don’t get me wrong, I’m so very excited but I can’t help but still be skeptical that something might go wrong.

I fear that one day I’ll wake up and find out that this was just a dream.

I’m trying not to let these fears hold me back. I’m preparing myself for a baby. Our nursery is painted, our furniture is painted and I ordered our crib this week. We’ll probably get it sometime next week and I just can’t wait to put it all together.

As far as pregnancy updates and all, as of my last OB appointment I had only gained a total of 3Lbs. Considering the fact that I initially lost 8Lb I’m still in the negative. We’ll see what I’ll look like when I go back to see them in 3 weeks.

As for symptoms, I guess the getting tired part is sneaking itself back. I do find myself tired at times and sometimes I even get out of breath. The breath thing is more when I overdo something or how I position myself, either sitting up or laying down. It’s very strange to be out of breath when you haven’t done anything.

I’m pretty sure that I’ve been feeling him move around quite often. It’s still not that kind of movement that you can feel from the outside or anything else but it’s that subtle movement that just assures me that he’s there. I can’t wait for Tom to start feeling him too.

One new thing that has been happening is soreness while I sleep. I don’t know exactly how to explain it other than my hip feels sore. Today I got some great advice from some of my online friends and they told me to prep my knee up and that should help. I’ll for sure try that. Bring on more pillows for me.

Our little Patryck is still growing. This is what one of the websites have to say about his growth.

Your baby continues to grow and develop inside of you. He now measures approximately 7 inches long and can weigh up to 10 ounces. In the coming weeks, your baby will continue to grow and mature at a fast rate.

The hair on his scalp is more visible and by week 21 he has probably developed eyelashes and eyebrows!

He is waking and sleeping in regular intervals, which you may be able to tell from his movements. He is also swallowing amniotic fluid to help his digestive system mature for life in the “outside world”. His intestines also start slowly relaxing and contracting this week.

Notice any small, repetitive movements in your abdomen? It may be his first case of the hiccups! Usually, these movements occur for a few minutes at a time. As your baby grows larger, these movements will feel stronger. And remember, all babies are different, some hiccup multiple times a day, and others, only once in awhile.


2 comments

  1. kimmy8989 · April 30, 2010

    Congratulations on your 21st week. 🙂 🙂 have a nice day.

  2. 21reena · May 5, 2010

    whoo hoo 21 weeks!!! So exciting! Wanna hear more about the nursury! Post pictures if you can!

Leave a Reply

