13 weeks Pregnancy and Planning.

Baby Development - 13 weeks pregnant

Yesterday we turned 13 weeks!!! YAY!! We’re so very excited about all of it.

My parents come to visit this past Tuesday and my mom wanted to know already where the baby’s room was going to be. What I had planned and all that was involved.

Our house has a total of 4 bedrooms. Well really it’s one office + 3 bedrooms. But none the less, we have plenty of options. The problem is that the design of our home is a little different from most homes.

The master bedroom is a little far from the two other rooms and I would not want the baby that far from me anyways. So, we have a little entry way/empty space as the entry of our bedroom and it just has miscellaneous things right now.

I measured it and I think it would be a perfect little place for the first year or two of our little baby.

I showed it to my mom and explained to her my ideas. She loved it. Of course being the crazy planner that I am I already know where everything will go and the measurements of most the furniture.

I believe that I’m a very creative person. Not only because I have the need to save money but because I really enjoy it. I already have 3 pieces of furniture that I want to refurbish and use in the baby’s room. I know this might sound weird to some people.

I know what some of you might be thinking. “Is she crazy? Why isn’t she buying new furniture for her very first baby?”

Well, I’ll spend whatever I need to spend to make my baby super safe. I will, but when it comes to dressers and all that I know that I can make it very special and unique and I can’t pass that up.

I already know the color scheme of the furniture that I want to use. We’re planning on going with a modern crib with white and brown. I’ll make sure that all the other furniture matches too. Don’t you worry.

Anyway. Enough about that. We’re getting way too carried away with all of this already. My husband already wants to start painting the room already. LOL. I asked Tom to wait until after my mother’s birthday. Which we’ll be about 25 weeks pregnant. We’ll see how long we can hold this off for.

Here’s a little bit of what’s going on during our pregnancy at 13 weeks.

13 weeks pregnancy

How your baby’s growing:

Fingerprints have formed on your baby’s tiny fingertips, her veins and organs are clearly visible through her still-thin skin, and her body is starting to catch up with her head — which makes up just a third of her body size now. If you’re having a girl, she now has more than 2 million eggs in her ovaries. Your baby is almost 3 inches long (the size of a medium shrimp) and weighs nearly an ounce.

See what your baby looks like this week.

Note: Every baby develops a little differently — even in the womb. Our information is designed to give you a general idea of your baby’s development.

How your life’s changing:

This is the last week of your first trimester, and your risk of miscarriage is now much lower than earlier in pregnancy. Next week marks the beginning of your second trimester, a time of relative comfort for many women who see early pregnancy symptoms such as morning sickness and fatigue subside. More good news: Many couples also notice a distinct libido lift around this time. Birth is still months away, but your breasts may have already started making colostrum, the nutrient-rich fluid that feeds your baby for the first few days after birth, before your milk starts to flow

5 comments

  1. bwakeling · March 5, 2010

    Congratulations on your pregnancy! We’ve only just finished our nursery, and my wife is 32 weeks!

    Ever since we found out she was pregnant I’ve been writing a book, and recently decided to post extracts online. You might enjoy my blog if you want to know how your partner is feeling during your pregnancy!

    All the best,

    Ben

  2. 21reena · March 7, 2010

    i love your furniture ideas – they seem like they will be treasured and i think it’s a great idea to keep baby nearby your room!

    • wtbocianski · March 8, 2010

      I can’t wait to start getting things done.
      I’ll for sure will be posting pics for you to see once I get it done.

  3. abcwalker · October 24, 2010

    Well I’m in week 13 and I’m feeling ill still, not as much as before. Not keeping food down but feeling better and better each day. The weight gain is tough. It’s my third pregnancy and I’m not feeling sexy. In fact I feel like a blob. Well haven’t started doing any decorating because we are thinking of moving so thats on hold until after the Christmas.

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « Our journey to parenthood

Leave a Reply

