Reaching 12 weeks!!

OMG is this for real? Am I really 12 weeks pregnant today?

Being an IF patient can really play tricks on you. You’re always dealing with mixed feelings. This rush of excitement and fear rushes through your veins separately or all at the same time and you have no control over it.

I can’t deny that I’m over the moon excited and I want to be able to scream to the entire world “I’M PREGNANT”. But then this fear of jinxing myself takes over and I feel paralyzed and I can’t bring myself to do it.

It seems that my DH and I have our roles switched around this time. Usually I’m the one who can’t keep a secret and I tell everyone right away. DH is usually the one that holds on to things and keep them a secret. Not this time though.

Tom has been spreading the word around and I don’t blame him for it. As for me, I’m still a little apprehensive and I want to wait until our NT scan before I start telling people.

Our NT scan is in 4 days and yet it seems so far away for me.

For those that don’ t know what an NT scan is, let me explain.

What is nuchal translucency?
This is a collection of fluid under the skin at the back of a baby’s neck. It can be measured using ultrasound when your baby is between 11 weeks and 13 weeks plus six days old. All babies have some fluid, but many babies with Down’s syndrome have an increased amount (Snijders et al 1998: 351, 343-6).

A nuchal translucency (NT) scan is a screening test which assesses whether your baby is likely to have Down’s syndrome. A screening test can only estimate the risk of your baby having Down’s, whereas a diagnostic test, such as CVS or amniocentesis will give you a definite diagnosis (but also carries a small risk of miscarriage).

The NT scan can’t tell for certain whether your baby is affected. However, it can help you decide whether or not to have a diagnostic test.

For us, we’re getting this test done because I’m one of those people that just have to know. Do you know what I mean? With that being said. Tom and I have talked about this and we’re both in the same page. It doesn’t matter what the results are. We’re accepting whatever it is that God has to give us.

We’re looking at this ultrasound more like a reassurance that our baby is doing ok and another chance to look at her/him. That’s about it. I’m not going to look into a CVS or amniocentesis test. Too risky for me.

As for me, I’ve been doing ok. I have not had any more spotting , which is SO good. I’ve had some nausea, tiredness, sore bbs and my emotions are all over the place.

I can cry for absolutely no idea. My patience seems to have disappeared and from time to time I have these hunger feelings that it makes me feel like I have not eaten in ages.

Today is my last day on the Endometrin and needless to say beside me being thrilled so is Tom. LOL.

We were told that after we reached 12 weeks that we were clear to do the baby dance. Dh has been counting the days. I’m on the other hand am very apprehensive, almost scared about it.

I know that I have to get over it and I will, I just need to get through the NT scan and I hope that I’ll breath a little easier.

How your baby’s growing:

The most dramatic development this week: reflexes. Your baby’s fingers will soon begin to open and close, his toes will curl, his eye muscles will clench, and his mouth will make sucking movements. In fact, if you prod your abdomen, your baby will squirm in response, although you won’t be able to feel it. His intestines, which have grown so fast that they protrude into the umbilical cord, will start to move into his abdominal cavity about now, and his kidneys will begin excreting urine into his bladder.

Meanwhile, nerve cells are multiplying rapidly, and in your baby’s brain, synapses are forming furiously. His face looks unquestionably human: His eyes have moved from the sides to the front of his head, and his ears are right where they should be. From crown to rump, your baby-to-be is just over 2 inches long (about the size of a lime) and weighs half an ounce.

2 comments

  1. 21reena · February 25, 2010

    yay 12 weeks!!! hope all those tests go great 🙂

  2. Jen G. · February 26, 2010

    One step closer Mama!!! Hope your next test gives you peace of mind and nothing but great news 😀

Leave a Reply

