First OB appointment – Meet and greet.

My goody Bag

I had my first OB appointment yesterday. It was more like a meet and great with the RN. I guess the way they work is they have the RN, the Nurse Practitioners and the doctor. The first appointment is with the RN then my next appointment will be with the Nurse Practitioner and then the one after that will be with the doctor. WHEW….

Anyway, she was great. She got all of our medical history and we talked a lot. She then took my blood pressure and my weight. I was pleased (and puzzled) to find out that I lost 6 pounds since the day before my IUI. Strange but what can I do.

She gave me plenty of information about what to expect during a pregnancy and I asked plenty of questions too. Some that she wasn’t able to answer and asked me to ask the doctor once I see him.

I wanted to know if since I have PCOS and was never told if I was insulin deficient if those two went hand in hand or not. She wasn’t sure how to answer it.

I also asked her what are the chances (percentage wise) of a missed miscarriage again and she wasn’t comfortable with giving me a number, so she asked me to ask the doctor.

Now, she gave me plenty of literature to read and we talked about the Pregnancy Screening Program and that I had the choice of doing it or not. I didn’t know I had a choice since my last OB didn’t really ask me.

For those of you who know me, you know that I always want to know everything therefore I have to do the full Screening Program. I just do. The thing is, no matter what the results are I wouldn’t change or terminate my pregnancy for any reason. I just want to be ready for anything. I just need to know and be ready, that’s all.

They also want me to change from my regular over the counter prenatal to a prescription one. I don’t mind at all and I believe that my insurance will cover it without a problem.

I’m trying one today, it’s called Duet DHA with Ferrazone. So far so good. It didn’t make me nauseous or anything so if I’m ok with it I’ll go ahead and take that one.

I also got a goody bag from my very nice RN. Inside of this bag we had the 5 different samples of prenatal, a bag from Similac and another bag from Enfamil. I have samples of milk powder and the little liquid too. It’s adorable.

I also got all the literature that I have to read and a pregnancy journal.

It’s awesome and I was so excited about this little bag. I guess it just makes it official since I haven’t bought anything yet.

Next week we’re going in for the ultrasound. To say that I’m nervous is an understatement. I get freaked out that I won’t see my baby and it’s just so scary.

I’m praying that everything is going to be ok. It just has to be ok.

8 comments

  1. Myndi · January 27, 2010

    This probably isn’t going to be very comforting, but they say your odds of miscarriage don’t increase until you’ve had three and then it only goes up a little. So you have every chance in the world of this pregnancy being a happy and healthy one. And I certainly hope that’s the case for you. 🙂

    • wtbocianski · January 29, 2010

      Thank you for your kind words. I”m praying that you’re right and that I’ll have a great pregnancy.

  2. celticwander · January 28, 2010

    Thank you for your comment. The poem was beautiful.

    • wtbocianski · January 29, 2010

      You are very welcomed. Again, I’m so sorry for your loss.

  3. 21reena · January 28, 2010

    I love how more and more real this is getting for you – YAY!!!!

    • wtbocianski · January 29, 2010

      I’m too. I’m still scared of something going wrong. I see it happening all the time and I just can’t help but be scared. I just can’t wait until we’re past the 12wk mark.

  4. sarahlou73 · January 30, 2010

    Oh hun, I’m so happy for you! Your thoughts and fears are pretty much identical to mine! It’s certainly an emotional journey. I will keep you and your little one in my prayers with me and mine :o) xxxxx

  5. katery · February 2, 2010

    i hope your ultrasound goes well, i was so nervous when i went into the re’s office have my 6 week ultrasound that i got sick in the waiting room so i know exactly how you’re feeling, i was afraid there would be no baby, but as you saw on my blog, there was a baby and she turned out just fine! i’ll check back to see how things go for you!

Leave a Reply

