Polyp? What is that?

Uterine Polyp

Uterine Polyp

fig17

Well, I guess there’s no running from it. I have a polyp! I had no idea these things even existed. Why in the world would our body even develop them?

This is just way too weird. Is there anything else that needs to be wrong with me? I know that there are many other problems out there in the world and this is not bad at all. But come one now.

According to my RE it’s simply a “skin tag” that grew in my uterine cavity. Seriously? Out of the many places in my body that I could have a “skin tag” I grew one in my uterus? WHY?!?!?!?

“It’s just one of those things” he said. He then proceeded to tell me how removing it was all up to me. That in some cases it does get in the way of people getting pregnant but since I got pregnant before (and I already had this) that it shouldn’t be a problem.

I asked him “when is it medically relevant to have this removed?” he said that usually it’s when it reaches 10mm or so. Guess where mine is measuring? TAH DAH……10mm!!!

Hello, get this out of me!

Since I’m going out of the country in November and I still have some cysts left over from my last cycle, I can’t continue with treatment anyway, so get it out.

I guess the procedure itself is very simple, BUT, it has to be done in a hospital because they have to put me under general anesthesia. Yay for me.

I watched some youtube videos yesterday about it and it’s pretty cool how they remove it. It doesn’t look too bad.

The procedure is called a hysteroscopy. No they’re not removing my uterus (that’s called a hysterectomy). They’re just going to remove my polyp.

I’m not sure when this is going to happen, hopefully I can get this done within the next 3 weeks before I go on vacation. I want to do that so I can get back from vacation and start trying again.

I’m suppose to start taking birth control pills to get the left over cysts to disappear. (yes I know, very ironic that I have to take BCP in order to get pregnant).

Ohh and the pain that I was feeling (and still am a little) is because of these left over cysts. They’re pretty big and my ovaries are not very happy with them. Therefore they hurt.

When I was getting my ultrasound done and she got to my left ovary I almost had a flipping heart attack.

Something about my right ovary shadowing my left and the pain is concentrated in only one side. This is just way too complicated.

Anyway. I’m now waiting to hear from the doctor so we can schedule surgery. Wish me luck.

3 comments

  1. 21reena · October 21, 2009

    omg-I’m so sorry you got this news. Although, you’re right, the timing is good…have it out, go on vaca, and then come back relaxed to atart trying again. I wish you so much luck!

    • wtbocianski · October 22, 2009

      Thank you so much for the kind words. I wish you the best of luck too.

  2. Yolyvette · October 23, 2009

    Hey here, just wanted to let you know that what you have to get done is not that complicated or painfull, sounds like you will have the same surgery I had. I had a septum in my uterus which means my uterus was divided in two, and not only did it make it dificult for me to get pregnant, it most likely added to my first two miscarriages when i did mahage to get pregnant.. Now they removed it and I made it to 23 week gestation but now seems like i either have a blood condition that caused my baby’s miscarriage or the antiviral i got for the swine flu i contrated or the flu itself caused it…any way we will know shortly what happened. But you stay put and if the Dr says stand with your head upside down and you will get pregnant you ask for how long. That’s what i do, anything to be preggers again and carry my baby to termn.

Leave a Reply

